There Are Times…

There are times I can’t feel His presence.
There are times I can’t see Him working in my life.
There are times I want to cry out:
“God, where are you? Why have you left me here to deal with this alone?”
There are times I question my calling:
“God, why did you ever think I could do this? There must be someone else.”
There are times I struggle with what I know to be true and what I see.
There are times I want to give up, drop everything, and walk away:
“God, what’s the point? I’m not strong enough for this.”

In the times I can’t feel His presence,
He reminds me that He will never leave me nor forsake me. (Deut. 31:6)
In the times I can’t see Him working,
He reminds me that all things work together for my good. (Rom. 8:28)
In the times I want to cry out,
He reminds me that, in those moments, He carries me. (2 Cor. 12:9; Ps. 68:19)
In the times I question my calling,
He reminds me that as He was with Moses, so also will He be with me. (Josh. 1:5)
In the times I struggle with my faith,
He reminds me that the reward for my belief is greater than my doubt. (1 Pet. 1:8-9)
In the times I feel like giving up,
He reminds me that it is in my weakness that He is strong. (2 Cor. 12:9)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “There Are Times…

  1. Liz Turney says:

    Reblogged this on Tell the World Movement and commented:

    This poem is a display of why it is vital to get into the Word. God’s Word is a source of strength, encouragement, and power. It is your weapon against every falsehood the enemy throws at you:
    • Fear? There are scriptures against that.
    • Doubt? More scriptures against that.
    • Shame? Yepp, still more scriptures against that, too.
    Anything the devil tries to attack you with, God can defend against. You can destroy every opposition with the Word of God., but you have to know it first! Build up your defenses by reading the Word daily. Then, you’ll be prepared whenever the enemy comes at you. Otherwise, you’ll keep taking a beating until you find the verses you need to fight back. When you know the Word, Satan doesn’t even have a chance because you already have scripture on hand to rebuke every lie he spews.
    The Word is the sword of the Spirit. Getting into your Word will help reinforce your faith – your shield and your front line of defense. So, take up your sword to strengthen your shield! Let God’s Word permeate your life, and you will never be unprepared.

    God bless,
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

